Michael (masterslacker) wrote in component_help,
Michael
masterslacker
component_help

Word to the wise

If you have any function overrides in your user layers, please do *not* use the "Edit Customisations" buttom on the Customise page. When it saves, it will only save the properties you set within the wizard, and will wipe out your function overrides. So, If you want to edit the basic properties, use the advanced customisations area to edit the layer directly.

(I've had three different people tell me that this has happened to them lately, so I'm just forewarning everyone who doens't know about this. Personally I don't like putting function overrides in the user layer because of this.)

And some suggestions from kunzite1:

- Keep a local copy on your hard drive! ... edit in your text editor, save, copy and paste into the advanced customization center, compile. if errors, fix in the text editor, save again, re-compile. This way if it happens to erase because of something you did, you have a backup to restore it with.

- When you delete a style, it will also **delete the layers that were attached to it**. You need to edit the style, change the theme layer and user layer to blank, save the style, *then* delete the style.
Subscribe
  • Post a new comment

    Error

    Anonymous comments are disabled in this journal

    default userpic

    Your reply will be screened

  • 5 comments